MAYOR Geno Martini

CITY COUNCIL Vacant, Ward I Ed Lawson, Ward II Ron Smith, Ward III Charlene Bybee, Ward IV Ron Schmitt, Ward V

> CITY ATTORNEY Chet Adams

CITY MANAGER Steve Driscoll

## CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL ELECTION MEETING MINUTES 2:00 P.M., Monday, November 14, 2016 City Council Chambers, Legislative Building, 745 Fourth Street, Sparks, Nevada

## 1. Call to Order (Time: 2:00 p.m.)

The special election meeting of the Sparks City Council was called to order by Mayor Geno Martini at 2:00 p.m.

## **2. Roll Call** (Time: 2:00 p.m.)

Mayor Geno Martini, Council Members Ed Lawson, Ron Smith, Charlene Bybee, Ron Schmitt, City Manager Steve Driscoll, City Attorney Chet Adams and City Clerk Teresa Gardner, PRESENT.

ABSENT: None

#### 3. Opening Ceremonies

#### 3.1 Invocation Speaker (Time: 2:01 p.m.)

The invocation was provided by Pastor Barb West, Sparks Nazarene Church.

#### **3.2** Pledge of Allegiance (Time: 2:02 p.m.)

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Ron Schmitt.

# 4. Public Comment (Time: 2:02 p.m.)

An anonymous speaker concerned with retaliation to survivors of domestic violence referenced Nevada Supreme Court ruling case #59139 and said it is the City of Sparks' ruling making Council Members responsible culpable for funding the destruction of domestic violence case files which is illegal according to NRS 11.250.

#### 5. Canvass of Election Result (Time: 2:05 p.m.)

# 5.1 Canvass the vote and declare the results of the 2016 election. (FOR POSSIBLE ACTION)

An agenda item from City Clerk Teresa Gardner to present the results of the 2016 election and to allow the Council to canvass the votes and declare the results official.

Ms. Gardner said the Sparks total voter registration is 54,075, turnout was 43,003 (79.5%), early voters was 27,662 (64%), absentee voters was 3,208 (8%), election day voters 12,111 (38%). As a result, Chet Adams ran unopposed and is duly elected, Council Ward 1 Donald Abbott received



18,666 votes (50.88%), Council Ward 3 Ron Smith received 23,411 votes (65.35%), and Council Ward 5 Kristopher Dahir received 18,240 votes (51.38%).

A motion was made by Council Member Lawson, seconded by Council Member Bybee, to declare the results of the 2016 election official and the winners to be Donald Abbott for Council Ward 1, Ron Smith for Council Ward 3, Kristopher Dahir for Council Member Ward 5 and Chet Adams for City Attorney.

5.2 Oath of Office to Newly Elected and/or Re-elected Officials based on the results of the November 8, 2016 general election. (FOR POSSIBLE ACTION) (Time: 2:08 p.m.)

Judge Barbara McCarthy administered the oaths of office to the newly elected and/or re-elected officials.

#### 6. Comments

#### 6.1 **Comments from the Public** (Time: 2:18 p.m.)

An anonymous speaker concerned with retaliation to survivors of domestic violence said members of the community are concealing knowledge of destruction of child abuse evidence and legal errors made in court.

# 6.2 Comments from City Council and City Manager (Time: 2:21 p.m.)

#### 7. Adjournment

Council was adjourned at 2:21 p.m.

GENO R. MARTINI, Mayor

ATTEST:

Teresa Gardner, City Clerk

>>>